Umpire Mike DiMuro blows call on Dewayne Wise dropped fly ball (Video)
Indians third baseman Jack Hannahan was batting in the seventh and sent a ball down the left field line. Wise tracked the ball and fell into the stands trying to make the catch. Though the ball came out of his glove, DiMuro ruled it an out.
Wise wasn’t complaining about the call.
“I’m not going to argue with him,” Wise said, according to Bombers Beat. “It was a tough angle for him. Stuff like that happens. They’re not perfect. He said, ‘Out,’ right away, so what was I supposed to do? Run back to left field? I ran off the field.”
Hannahan actually was ejected in the 8th for telling DiMuro to take a look at the replay. DiMuro eventually did, and admitted he was wrong after the game.
“I went out on the ball and saw the ball into his glove in his stands. He disappeared into the stands and I believed that the ball was in his glove,” he told a pool reporter, per The Star-Ledger.
“Now that I see the tape it’s obvious that the ball fell out of his glove. In hindsight, I should have asked him to show me the ball since he fell into the stands and out of my line of vision.”
I still think Tim Welke’s blown call was worse, but this was pretty darn bad.
Time to finally add instant replay, MLB? I’d say so.