Notre Dame called for lane violation, loses comeback bid vs. Xavier

Notre Dame lost to Xavier in the first round of the NCAA Tournament Friday 67-63, and they lost on a questionable call by the refs. Guard Eric Atkins was at the free throw line for a one-and-one with 2.8 seconds and his team down 65-63. He made the first free throw, but it was waved off because the referee called a lane violation. Yup, the same lane violation that cost UNC Asheville against Syracuse on Thursday.

Guard Jerian Grant went from the backcourt and crossed the three-point line before the ball hit the rim, triggering the call. Instead of Atkins shooting for the tie, Xavier took the ball out, got fouled, and made two free throws to win it 67-63.

Even though the call is by the book, it’s not something that’s called during the regular season therefore it’s not something that should be called in the final 3 seconds with a game on the line. If you really want to go by the book, then the referees should be calling travels, carrying, and offensive or defensive fouls every other play. Some things you have to let go to keep the flow of the game, and this certainly was one of them.

Below is another look at the lane violation in slow-motion:

Around The Web

  • Anonymous

    If you don’t know the rules of the game, you deserve to lose

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_X7SJE7TFSAE5YDRDCWY4TEO5ZQ Duane

    Absolutely, because if they would have missed the free throw and that guy could have got the advantage on the rebound and it could have changed the outcome.  Know the rules and don’t cry when you break them.

  • Anonymous

    only after a made basket is a player allowed to move across the baseline without any restrictions and on the free throw attempts no player on either team who is outside the arc can enter the area until the ball hits the rim,otherwise it’s a violation and that’s not something that the official’s can pass on,by rule  they must make those calls,end of story.

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_ZSW6GCU2AAJL6QCFRE626BC6WA m b

    A great, hard fought game for over 39.5 minutes which came to an abrut end with two back-to-back poor calls by officials.  He may have been technically correct, but we all know there are literally hundreds of possible calls in each game and the officials are responsible for when they actually blow the whistle.  I would hope that guidance to these officials would – in part – be to not become the sole cause of a game’s outcome.  Mr. Stuart was very aware of the game and chose to effectively end it with the calls.

  • http://www.facebook.com/jonglorioso Jon Glorioso

    It’s up to the players to follow the rules- if they get away with calls then they’re lucky- it’s not the ref’s job to let calls go. It’s the players job to follow the rules.

  • John Carey

    “Questionable Call?” The question would have been “Why didn’t the official call a very clear violation?” had they not called it.

  • Gene

    It is like a foot fault in tennis.  It is a violation and should be called every time it occurs.  Both hoops officials and tennis officials are guilty of being lax. 

    This is like Serena Williams’ meltdown at the US Open a few years ago, where she was called for a foot fault at a crucial time.  If it is a rule it should be enforced all of the time and then players in both sports will avoid the violation.

  • Anonymous

    Had to be written by a Notre Dame fam, who is s sore loser. It was the right call, player had ran past the free throw line before the ball hit the rim. Had to be called. Sore loser.

  • http://twitter.com/Brotherj55 Todd Johnson

    Bad mistake by the kid after it happened the day before in the Syracuse game. You make that call, the Notre Dame half doesn’t think you do, but if it turns the other way xavier feels screwed. Watching these games I just want consitancy, I feel the refs seem intimidated by the big schools and coaches.

  • phill9178

    RIGHT CALL!!  I ref way too much to watch just for fun so I really dont care who wins, LARRY   you should be ashamed of your comments! a call that is correct within the rules a “bad call” NO! NO! NO!