pixel 1
Friday, June 5, 2020

The Final Five – Team USA gymnastics reveals nickname

Final Five

The U.S. women’s gymnastics team finally unveiled their nickname after winning gold medal in the team competition. They are “The Final Five.”

The Final Five are comprised of Simone Biles, Aly Raisman, Gabby Douglas, Laurie Hernandez and Madison Kocian, who were superb in the team competition at the Rio Olympics on Tuesday. They scored 184.897 — well ahead of silver medalist Russia, which scored 176.688.

The Final Five is considered to be possibly the greatest gymnastics team all-time.

In case you’re wondering why they chose “The Final Five” as their nickname, it has to do with a change in the Olympics moving forward. The Olympics gymnastics teams have been reduced from five to four beginning with the 2020 Summer Games in Tokyo. The nickname may also be a reference to the team being coach Martha Karolyi’s last, as she’s planning to step down after the Olympics.

The decrease in gymnastics team members has been consistent over the years. There were seven per team for the 1996 Summer Games in Atlanta; six for the 2000 Games in Sydney; and five for the 2012 Summer Games in London. Now with the Olympics going to four members in 2020, the current group competing in Rio is the final group of five.

Now in addition to the Magnificent Seven and the Fierce Five, we have the Final Five.

Read more LBS stories:

Subscribe and Listen to the Podcast!

Sports News Minute Podcast


comments powered by Disqus